Lamb Curry with Tomatoes and Green Beans

The photo doesn’t do it justice, but this is my new favourite curry.  First, get about a kilo of diced lamb.  It’s best to buy a leg of lamb joint, and snip it up yourself, because it’s easier to trim away all the fat this way.  Put the lamb into a bowl with one teaspoon each of turmeric, dried ginger, sea salt, half a teaspoon of cinnamon and a squeeze of lemon juice.  Mix well and set aside.

In a large, lidded pan, heat two tablespoons of oil until shimmering.  Add four cloves, two bay leaves and sizzle.  Now, add two sliced onions and let them brown.  Remove the onion from the pan, then add the lamb and let it brown.  When it’s browned, pop the onions back in, and add two chopped cloves of garlic and a teaspoon each of ground coriander, cumin and paprika.

Stir well, then add half a tin of tomatoes and 200ml of water.  Put the lid on and simmer for 60 minutes.

Meanwhile, make your fresh, tomatoey, curry sauce by putting one and a half tins of tomatoes, 100ml water, a chopped onion, four cloves of garlic, four long, green, hot chillis, six slices of fresh ginger, one teaspoon of turmeric, one teaspoonful of salt, two tablespoons of oil and a handful of fresh coriander into a medium-sized saucepan.  Boil with the lid on for twenty minutes, then liquidise.  Set aside until the lamb has cooked for an hour.

When the lamb is tender, add the sauce and a few handfuls of green beans.  Simmer for 15-20 minutes. Serve with plain, boiled rice and fresh coriander.  Also delicious with a few potatoes added.

16 thoughts on “Lamb Curry with Tomatoes and Green Beans

  1. That looks yummy. I’ve not done a lamb curry before, but this is the meat my dad likes using best for curries, because it breaks up and falls apart so well, absorbing the flavours as it does so. Also I am told by my children that potatoes are a *must* in any curry so I am glad you mentioned them at the end, making for a perfect sounding meal.

    • Ah, gotcha! I’ll delete one of them! I’m trying to like your wonton recipe but can’t find the button. Disastrous attempt to make wontons myself at New Year so I’ll be having a closer look at your recipe shortly.

      • Sometimes WordPress has a few glitches…I can’t see what it looks like on your feed so not sure how to fix that…yesterday when I was looking at the blogs I follow there was one telling me that someone I followed had died. I so dearly wanted to write something but there wasn’t anywhere to leave a comment so all I could do was like it… Which didn’t seem appropriate at all. Hope you have better luck with the wontons next time!

Leave a Reply

