Lamb and Spinach Curry

Fry 2 large, sliced onions in 4 tablespoons of oil until browning.

Skoosh up a two inch piece of ginger and 3 cloves of garlic and add to the onions.  Stir this into the onions with a teaspoon each of chilli powder, turmeric, ground cumin and salt.  Continue stirring and cook for 2 minutes more.

Add 500g lean diced lamb (I usually buy a leg or shoulder joint and cut it up myself so that there is no visible fat) and stir well.  Add half a tin of chopped tomatoes and stir.  Then add 400ml water and stir.  Put the lid on and cook slowly for 50 minutes.

Add 200g chopped spinach and cook – lid on – for a further 10 minutes.  Then take the lid off and turn up the heat to reduce the liquid for the last ten minutes.

Garnish with sliced chillis, ginger or coriander.

8 thoughts on “Lamb and Spinach Curry

  1. I have yet to try well cooked lamb. I tried to cook it years ago, but I know what I made wasn’t as good as what it could be. I want to eat it how it should be cooked. Wish I could try a bite of this…

  2. This recipe (and all of your others) look terrific! I’m going to look forward to trying them. I can relate to Debbie Spivey and am not very familiar with cooking lamb dishes, so thank you for this opportunity to try!

  3. This sounds so lovely. I especially like the idea of incorporating fresh spinach in with the lamb, tomatoes and water. I’m certain this would chase away the winter chill.

    Thanks for sharing your recipe with us!
    Allison

Leave a Reply

