Omelette Arnold Bennett

DSC_0064[1]

Much as I love food, I think I’d be a bit miffed if I was more famous for eating a smoked haddock omelette than for writing ‘The Old Wives’ Tale’.  Arnold Bennett’s books don’t seem to be fashionable at the minute; I have no idea why not.

Anyway, if you like smoked haddock, and don’t mind the occasional rich omelette, you’ll love this.

Firstly, pop about 140g undyed, smoked haddock into a small pan with 250ml milk and simmer for 8-10 minutes until just cooked.

Meanwhile, preheat the grill, grate about a tablespoonful of cheese (I used Gran Padano but parmesan would be fine too) and chop a few chives and about half a tablespoon of parsley.

Lightly whisk 6 eggs with a small pinch of salt..

When the haddock is cooked, lift it out of the milk and flake into juicy pieces, retaining the milk.

Now, melt 40g butter in a pan with a dessertspoonful of cornflour, stirring all the time over a low heat.  When it has melted, add the warm milk and whisk over a medium heat until the sauce is thick, smooth and just bubbling.  Take it off the heat and stir in the parsley, the haddock, a very small pinch of salt and some freshly grated nutmeg.  Set aside.

Next, let a big knob of butter foam all over a medium-sized frying pan, then pour in the eggs.  When the omelette is practically cooked, take it off the heat and pour the sauce all over the top.  Sprinkle with cheese and grill until golden and delicious.  Throw over a few snipped chives.

16 thoughts on “Omelette Arnold Bennett

  1. I thought you’d fallen off my list of “follows”, it’s been such a long time since I saw one of your recipes. Welcome back – what a great one to come back with! All ingredients I love and good for pescatarians too. Thanks for sharing.

    • Thanks, Denise! There’s no way I could have posted anything this week – it’s been too busy to shop, so I’ve been throwing all kinds of unlikely fridge stuff together. Besides, I wanted to finish ‘ The Old Wives’ Tale’ before I mentioned Arnold Bennett – how silly is that?! Probably be back in a week or so!

Leave a Reply

