Lime and Coconut Cakes

DSC_0198DSC_0194

I totally love Laura’s website and photos, so when I saw this recipe, I thought it would be a nice one with which to try out my four new dinky little loaf tins.

http://laurasmess.me/2012/08/03/lemon-coconut-cake-with-spiced-honey-syrup/

Unfortunately, I didn’t have the right ingredients, and my cakes didn’t rise beautifully like Laura’s original, but they were really addictive and delicious, so I’m posting my flawed adaptation anyway.  They were the loveliest lime and coconut cakes I’ve ever eaten, but next time, I’ll certainly use coconut cream rather than coconut milk and see if that makes them more photogenic.

You’ll need five limes for this.

Beat together 200g golden caster sugar, the rind of 3 limes and 125g soft butter until soft and fluffy.

Measure out 250g self-raising flour and set aside.

Add a large egg to the butter/sugar mix and beat well, adding a tablespoon or so of the flour if the mixture curdles.  Add a second egg, and more flour if necessary.  Beat in 200g well-shaken coconut milk (or coconut cream).  Now, fold in the remaining flour and then the lime juice.

Pour into a lined 20cm cake tin, or 4 mini loaf tins, if you prefer.  For the larger cake, you’ll need 45 minutes to an hour at 180 degrees; for the littler ones, you might want to check after 20-25 minutes.  If they are springy, they’re done.

While the cakes are still warm, make your drizzle by warming the juice of a lime with the same amount of water and a dessertspoon of honey.  Simmer until you have half of the original amount, then poke a few holes in your sponge and drizzle the drizzle over your cakes.

When they are completely cool, you can cover them with lime icing (160g icing sugar and the juice of a lime) or raspberry jam and coconut.  I turned my cakes upside down before icing to hide my shame, but after tasting, you can see that I’m actually quite proud of these little wonders after all!

DSC_0186

8 thoughts on “Lime and Coconut Cakes

  1. These look really delicious! Love the idea of making them in the little loaf tins, I don’t own any mini baking tins but you’ve made me want to invest in some!! Gorgeous interpretation of the recipe. Thanks for the link back, it’s wonderful to see how well lime works with the coconut too!! xx

Leave a Reply

