C-L’s Onion Bhajis

922078_4061398911571_86734918_o

Claire-Louise’s onion bhaji recipe:  Don’t they look delicious?
“5 heaped tbsp plain flour
4 tsp coriander leaf
1 tsp ginger
1 tsp hot chilli powder
1 tsp cumin
2 tsp garam masala
Pinch of salt and pepper
2 large onions
Water

Mix all the dry ingredients in a bowl.
Add the water slowly until it makes a thick paste (about half a cup of water).
Quarter the onions then thinly slice each piece.
Mix the onion in the bowl with the paste thoroughly.

Using a deep fryer (I use a wok with about a litre of oil in), place a large tbsp of the mixture and scrape it into the hot oil.
Fry each side for about 3 mins or until it looks a crispy golden brown.
Place on a plate with kitchen roll on, to soak away any excess oil.

Best eaten immediately, however you can also freeze them and bake them in the oven at a later date.”
17 thoughts on “C-L’s Onion Bhajis

  1. http://lovelyseasonscomeandgo.wordpress.com
    Yummy! I have never tasted deep fried onions with garam masala in it. The very first time I made an indian eggplant dish with garam masala, I was a little too heavy with the GM. But the next time I put half of what I used the last time and it came out perfectly delicious. I love all kinds of indian style dishes and so I try to master the few dishes I do know how to make by making them often. I never heard of this one though, but now this I have “got” to try to make this OB too. Thank you so much for your wonderful recipes and ideas.

  2. Pingback: Prawn Curry with Missi Roti | Salutation Recipes

  3. Pingback: Slow Cooker Hot & Spicy Eggplant with Potatoes | lovelyseasonscomeandgo

Leave a Reply

