Pasta with Asparagus, Mint and Parsley

DSC_0068[1]

What can I say?  Lent didn’t quite go according to plan.  The scales this morning have convinced me that I need to go back to the healthier version of me.  This recipe kickstarts my first resolution, which is to eat meat just a couple of times a week.

1.  Prepare your vegetables.  Slice up the white of a leek,  a clove of garlic, 3 smallish courgettes and 200g mushrooms.  Prepare about 8 asparagus stalks and have a couple of tablespoons of peas at the ready.

2.  Fry your leek and garlic in 3 tablespoons of good olive oil.  Add some salt.  Meanwhile, pop your pasta on to cook, presuming that you’re using dried pasta which takes 9 – 10 minutes.

3.  Once the leek is nicely softened, add the mushrooms and courgettes and turn the heat up.  Stir and allow to colour slightly.  Meanwhile, grate the zest of a lemon, and chop about 6 mint leaves and a handful of fresh parsley.

4.  When the pasta is 4 minutes from ready, add the asparagus and the peas to the pan, along with the juice of a lemon and some black pepper.  Reduce the heat and pop a lid on.

5.  When the pasta is ready and drained, add it to the vegetable pan with the fresh herbs, lemon zest and a good sprinkle of parmesan.

Feel free to suggest some more healthy recipes below.

13 thoughts on “Pasta with Asparagus, Mint and Parsley

  1. Aah! I know the feeling well. The dreaded kilo creep. I regularly put vegetarian meals on the table without my family blinking an eyelid. We are heading into winter and I’m determined not to comfort eat too much as the weather cools. Lucky you. All those wonderful spring vegetables coming into season. The pasta looks delicious.

      • My personal favourites at the moment are roasted capsicums filled with grape tomatoes and pangrattato, a luscious confit of zucchini pasta, Spanish tortilla or spinach and cheese pie. My kids adore the Moroccan inspired red lentil soup and anything that involves frying – corn fritters with roast tomatoes, crumbed cauliflower and the like. To kill the kilo creep I’ve been doing the 5-2 eating plan. Eat normally for 5 days and fast (consume no more than 500calories) for 2 days a week. I’m posting recipes for the fast days as I go under 5-2 diet. It seems to work but I really appreciate my 5 ‘feast’ days. Naturally.

      • Thank you very, very much – the stuffed peppers look great. I think that I would feast too heartily on the 5 days to benefit from the 5-2 regime, but I’ll keep my eyes peeled for those fast day recipes.

Leave a Reply

