I blogged this ages ago on Posterous; but it’s a good recipe. And I was very proud of myself for working it out from an M & S ingredients list!

Salutation Recipes

Flapjack 006

By adding some condensed milk to a typical flapjack recipe, the flapjacks become really fudgy.

125g block butter

100g golden syrup

90g golden caster sugar

280g porridge oats (sometimes more)

Half to a full tin (397g) of sweetened condensed milk (you only need half a tin, but if you can’t think of a way to use up the rest, chuck the lot in and add a few more oats)

2 teaspoons vanilla extract

Line an 8″ (20cm) square brownie tin with greaseproof paper and preheat the oven to 180 degrees (or 165 if your oven is too hot like mine).

Melt the butter, syrup and sugar very gently in a large pan, stirring often.  Don’t allow to boil.  As the last lump of butter is disappearing, add the condensed milk and vanilla.  Warm through for 5 minutes until the mixture turns a shade darker.

Take the pan off the heat…

View original post 142 more words

2 thoughts on “

  1. Hello!

    I am so excited to have stumbled across this recipe! I lived in London for two years and was obsessed with the M&S flapjacks. Yours look perfect — slightly crunchy on the outside and nice and chewy but not mushy or stodgy! Now that I’m back in the States, I’m throwing an afternoon tea party for my anglophile Grandma’s 80th birthday and want her to be able to taste the real deal. I have just secured some imported golden syrup!

    Now I just have a couple of questions about your recipe. Did you use unsweetened condensed milk? What was the size of the tin and/or approximate amount you used? We have a similar product here called evaporated milk, which usually comes in a small 5 oz. can. Also, when you say “porridge oats” I am wondering if the US equivalent would be “quick-cooking oats” (versus our larger “rolled oats” which may be equivalent to your “jumbo oats”)? This is my own conclusion based on some (rather inconclusive) internet research. I’m also guessing that either demerara or turbinado sugar would be closest to golden caster sugar.

    Any advice would be most appreciated. Never thought such a seemingly simple recipe could be such a challenge to convert using American ingredients! 🙂

    Thank you and kind regards from Jessica in Chicago.

    • Hello, Jessica! Oh, I really hope I can help because it sounds like a lovely idea for a party. If not, you might have to make do with a Victoria Sponge or scones!

      The condensed milk that I use is sweetened. You can see the ingredients here: http://www.sainsburys.co.uk/groceries/index.jsp?bmUID=1370379393838
      On amazon.com, the Santini Organic Condensed Milk looks like the same thing.
      I use pretty much the whole tin rather than half a tin these days, as I don’t like to waste it, and it works without having to adapt the other ingredients. I have tried using evaporated milk and even double cream before, and they made the flapjacks nice and moist, but not quite as fudgy as with condensed milk.
      Normal white sugar or a mixture of white sugar and soft brown sugar is fine. Demerara might keep its bite a bit much.
      Rolled oats would be perfect, I think.
      I would love to hear how they work out! I might look at the recipe again to make it more specific – who knew that there would be so many international variables?!
      Apart from that, the only other advice is to line your tin with a non-stick paper and to wait until it’s completely cold before slicing.
      Good luck!
      Julie

Leave a Reply

